Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Sapphire Preferred Approved with a Bad Score

tag
dhop08
Established Member

Chase Sapphire Preferred Approved with a Bad Score

Hey All, I just wanted to make a post about an anomaly. I've been banking with Chase bank for about 3 or 4 years now. I make about 65k a year depending on my bonuses at work. My credit score is very low due to carrying high balances on my cards. (90% utlization) I know its not smart at ALL to carry balances this high. However, I haven't missed a payment on anything in about 5 years. So my payment history is 100% ontime. My score is about 590.

I logged into my chase account to check my account balance over the weekend. There was a notification on the page that said I was preaproved for the chase freedom flex, freedom unlimted, and the chase sapphire preferred. I decided to give it a try and I WAS APPROVED for the chase sapphire preferred with a $5000.00 limit.  I keep thinking that this has to be a glitch or something. Previously after a year when I got with chase banking, I applied for the chase sapphire preferred with my score was a 667 and very low credit utilization (<10%) and I was denied in 2022. I just figured that I would try again once I pay my debt off.

Its crazy that I was approved with a bad score and high utlization rate. The only reason I can guess that I was approved was for my income that is direct deposited in my chase account and my payment history.

So if you want a good chase card and your score is low. Just use the checking account consistently at least 3 or 4 years and you might get a suprise one day like I did.

Don't beat up on me regarding my score, I plan on start back paying my cards off this year.

Equifax 587 Goal:720 all 3 by December 2024
Message 1 of 34
33 REPLIES 33
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor

Re: Chase Sapphire Preferred Approved with a Bad Score

@dhop08 wrote: