Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One Venture CLI strategy?

tag
vinster95
New Contributor

Capital One Venture CLI strategy?

Hey everyone. I was just apporved a few days ago for the Capital One Venture card. They gave me a starting limit of $3000. All these years of using an Amex Platinum, I've never prioritized  building up good credit limits. What's the best way to go about doing that? Specifically with Capital One and the Venture card?

I read things saying use 40 percent or so of your CL and then pay it in full each month? Should I do that? Should I be going even higher up to the $3000 and then paying in full, showing them I need more? Should I spend $1500, then pay it in full, then spend another $1500 and pay in full again in the same month? I'm very new to this, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Side question for Capital One cardholders: When you request a CLI, is it worth just asking for a lot and then Capital One will counter with a lower one if they dont approve yours? Or is it better to request smaller amounts so they're approved?

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
CreditPoor
Regular Contributor

Re: Capital One Venture CLI strategy?

Capital One likes to see heavy spend on the card. I have a venture with starting limit of 6k and spend $5500 several times a month with immediate pay off. After about 6 months of that they increased it $500. If you're looking to grow big limits Capital One is not the place

Message 2 of 12
vinster95
New Contributor

That's all they increased you after that spend on it? Wow? I've always heard Capital One was stingy. I don't need this card to grow into a 20k card. I'd like to at the very least have it be a 10k card, and then go get a Chase card. 

Message 3 of 12
FicoMike0
Established Contributor

I've gotten a $500 cli from Capone too.  I don't think they care what you ask for.

Message 4 of 12
addicted
Established Member