Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UPDATE: From BK7 to Perfect Score

tag
cem13
Established Contributor

UPDATE: From BK7 to Perfect Score

I wanted to update the board on my credit journey.  I work in the automotive industry in a technical field and making $100K+ for several years.  In 2007, I was laid off from my long term employer but soon found another job but it paid 85K.   Then 18 months later,  I was laid off again (AUG08).  This time it took 20 months to find work.  I took the first job offer at $60K in AUG10. This was not enough to catch up.  I was able to renegotiate my debt, sold my newer car for a beater, downsized as much as I could but nothing helped.  The stress caused my wife and I to divorce (what a shame really).  The stress also caused some medical issues with me.  So I had no choice but to file BK.  During the creditor's meeting, I had quit my job for a better one.  My attorney advised me to say "I am out of work 'at the moment'" but if asked, I was legally obligated to tell them I was offered and accepted another position making more money.  No one asked, thus I qualified for the BK7 instead of the BK13.

That was JAN2011.  My scores were in the 500s.  I followed the "BK7 to 700 in 24 months" thread to the tee.  It worked as I broke 700 at the 23rd month.  I also re-negotiated with Wells Fargo to accept 75% of my mortgage.  So I went to a local broker and was approved for a FHA mortgage with $30 per month PMI (which is not bad considering I dropped my mortgage balance $60k and monthly payment by $300).  The ironic part is that my broker sold my mortgage back to Wells Fargo.  That caused a mess for a few months until WF could get it straight.  The latest is great, rapid promotions, 5~10% annual increases.