Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge off question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Charge off question

This is my first post here so I wanted to start out by saying hello to everyone. I'm in the process of trying to fix some things on my credit report which I haven't pulled in a few years now. I think I've just been naive where that is concerned. Out of sight, out of mind, so to speak. Bad choice, I know. Please excuse any off the wall questions....I am new to this. I just recently pulled an equifax report and noticed 2 charge offs. One is from Sears/CBSD (Citibank) that the balance/charges were disputed to Sears, in writing, by me, back in 04/06. Never heard back from them so I ASSumed it was taken care of. Low and behold, $337 was charged off back in 06. I haven't heard from them or anyone representing them but it is showing on my CR. What should I do? Dispute with CRA's? The second charge off is with Washington Mutual/Providian. Date opened 06/04, Balance is $0, date reported 02/07, Past due $0, Charge-off, Credit limit $446. What does that mean? Its showing a zero balance. Is that because they sold the debt? Now, I know it has been sold because Arrow Financial is actively trying to collect. I just DV'd them this morning. They claim the balance is $284 and attempted to settle with me for around half of that. WaMu has recently sent me a cc pre-approval letter in the mail. Imagine that! Is there any way to use that to my advantage as far as getting the charge-off deleted? They charged off my previous account but want my business again?? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks so much.
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Charge off question

::::bump:::: Please. =)
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can you break this up, please?
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Welcome to the forum. There are things that you need to know before doing anything with your CR.