cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portfolio Recovery set up wage garnishmen, please help.

tag
kmg110

Portfolio Recovery set up wage garnishmen, please help.

I found out through my payroll department that a wage garnishment was received from Portfolio Recovery and I have no idea where it’s from. I’m so distraught cause all I can see it’s from a judgement from 2010, I had no clue about and I can’t trace debt. It's so old that they have my address from 15 years ago on the form. In this climate money is tight and they’re taking $400 a month from my pay.

How can I get this removed? It’s so crazy cause I don’t have any collections or judgements on my credit, my FICO score is 768 with an excellent history that I’ve been maintaining for 8 years now. Can this somehow find its way to my credit report?

Sorry if this is chaotic, I'm so angry and stressed out that I can't think straight.

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
JoeRockhead
Senior Contributor

Re: Portfolio Recovery set up wage garnishmen, please help.

It's not likely to make it's way to your credit report as the debt is too old to report. As for the judgement itself, it really depends on the state in which the judgement was ordered and what their laws are in regards to renewing the judgement as well as garnishments. 

Some states allow judgements to to be be renewed every 10 years (just as an example) essentially allowing them to follow someone around for the rest of their life, or until they're satisfied (paid in full, or settled for less). Other states have clear limitations on the renewal of judgements. Further still, there could be restrictions on garnishments. It's possible you could object to the garnishment through the court that ordered the judgement.